How it started

I was always into firearms and tactics. My Father was a Marine, and a Police Officer/range master/SWAT Sharpshooter for 20 years. So needless to say I was up to my eyeballs in “tacti-cool” stuff. Around the age of 18 I started purchasing rifles and getting interested in sharpshooting. I got to the point where I could hit the lenses out of eye glasses at 100 yards with my .22 LR Remington 597. Then by 20 I got my first pistol; A Rossi .38 Special which I never even fired. I quickly traded that for my first semi-auto pistol – Glock 17. See, I was studying firearms and tactics since I was 16. I played airsoft and I studied so much and got so comfortable in high stress situations that at one point I faced off against 13 guys by myself and won with a pistol in a close quarters arena match after my whole team got wiped. After that it got serious. I realized after studying pretty heavily that there were a select few in the world that took technique and theory as seriously as I did. Normally those were SWAT, Special Forces, and Competition shooters. Other than that, the basic level military, police, and civilian CCW carriers had a “good old boys” mentality and didn’t believe in tactics and technique. I once got schooled by a “good old boy” who told me a 1911 wasn’t accurate past 10 feet. Well after seeing this video and even myself hitting shotgun shells at 90 yards with one, I knew there was some serious misinformation going on in the shooting community.

When I hit 21 I got my concealed carry permit immediately. 1 week later I was with a friend of mine trying to get him to carry as well. We were spending the day driving to gun stores all over so he could get his hands on different weapons and feel them out and look at features and what not. As we were leaving the last store he was in the middle of saying “I don’t know if it’s worth it to carry all the time”. Just then a guy pulled a pistol on us in front of a gun store. Or at least he tried. Before he could get his out I had mine halfway out of the holster. Once he saw that he stopped in his tracks and just stood there, and we were able to get in his car and drive away.

Would I have been in my rights to take this guy out? Yes. But because of the training and study I did, I knew that my 9mm loads ( which I do not carry for personal protection anymore ) would have gone right through him. Just behind him was a line of cars at a stop light, and beyond that was storefront. I also noticed he was twitching. Being an EMT I could recognize that he was on something and wasn’t clear. Most likely coupled with the adrenaline pumping in him my 9mm’s wouldn’t have done anything unless I hit a heart, brain, aorta, or spine. Not to mention the 5 guys across the street watching that seemed to be waiting for something, I was out numbered. My training allowed me to see beyond the tunnel vision on his weapon and assess that I could get myself in some trouble here. Now if he would have proceeded to draw I would have had to act. Thank God I didn’t.

After this incident I stepped it up even more. I had a taste of sincere fear for my life. Everything I did and didn’t do wasn’t a thought, it was a reaction. When under that type of stress, your brain pulls out what it has indexed for that situation. And I realized that I was so blessed to have been able to train and get out of that.

Now I study that art of the firearm. In the past 5 years I have come to excel with shotguns, and pistols. I also studied some knife work derived from Pekiti Tersia Kali, and hand to hand combat in Krav Maga, as well as Aikido. I’ve realized people need to know this information. They need to get their head out of the dirt and wake up. The old days of 1 bad guy in a beanie jacking your wife’s purse and running are over. Today, statistically most attacks happen with 3-6 attackers, and they turn violent or deadly %70 of the time. It means nothing to murder someone today. So why are we still carrying revolvers and using tactics from 1945? The battlefield has changed. So should we.

Leave a Reply

